Our Two Cents

Federal Trucking Registry for the Carbon Tax

In the Fall of 2018, the Government of Canada announced the list of provinces and territories that will be subject to the federal carbon pricing system. Part 1 of the federal system (the fuel charge) is scheduled to apply in Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and New Brunswick beginning April 1, 2019, and in Nunavut and Yukon beginning July 1, 2019.


This means interjurisdictional carriers who travel to any of those provinces will need to register with the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) by those dates.


For details, please visit the website of Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), the department in charge of the registration system.

Carriers have a legal obligation to register with CRA. Carriers are encouraged to contact fuelcharge@cra-arc.gc.ca if they have concerns about this system or are unsure how the registration system is to work.